On Saturday morning, I had to head into the near east of Perth to collect a car, replacing that which I wrote off the previous week. Filled with glee at having my own wheels again (having caught the bus for a whole week – how I suffered!), I celebrated by collecting my Lady (Miss C.) and heading off for a slap up brunch!

ffm1
L’extérieur

Brunch is one of life’s great pleasures – the joys of breakfast food at lunchtime. Or, if you fancy a burger, the joys of lunch food at breakfast time! We headed to Food For Me in East Victoria Park, a staple of the café strip there and a place I’ve had several good meals in the past.

It was 10am, and the café was still rather busy. Fortunately, a table had been vacated just as we arrived, so we were able to sit down straight away. We pondered the menu for a while, and eventually settled on Eggs Benedict for me, and the Vego Full Belly (the vegetarian alternative to the Full Belly, essentially a full English breakfast) for Miss C. Duly ordered (after I was outraged about being pushed in front of in the queue), our breakfasts arrived after a reasonable interlude and looked good enough to eat!

Vego Full Belly. This image is for demonstration purposes only (we didn't take any photos). (With thanks to The Website Formerly Known As UrbanSpoon)
Vego Full Belly. This image is for demonstration purposes only (we didn’t take any photos). (With thanks to The Website Formerly Known As UrbanSpoon)

The Vego Full Belly was reported as rather good. Tomatoes, half an avocado, nice thick toast, grilled spinach, and two poached eggs – which were requested to be and delivered as hard, which was good because so many kitchens just don’t bother to accede to this request. It also included a little pile of mushrooms which were absolutely delicious, and almost made me regret my order.

Again from Zomato, this is kind of what my meal looked like. The toast was from a more continental-shaped loaf, however.
Again from Zomato, this is kind of what my meal looked like. The toast was from a more continental-shaped loaf, however.

However, that wasn’t going to last long. This was without doubt the best eggs benedict I’d had in the four years since I first had it. The hollandaise was fresh, not too runny, but not too creamy either – it also wasn’t overbearing in flavour, which it often can be. The eggs, which were poached soft, were of a good size, and poached perfectly. It was served on a bed of grilled triple smoked ham, spinach, and thick toast (forgoing the English muffin of the “official” recipe, which I don’t really like anyway), and if I have one criticism of the dish it’s that there was maybe just a little bit too much spinach.

We also both had milkshakes, which came out in the big metal cups they would have been made in. I like this as you feel like you’re getting real value for money because you get the whole milkshake, rather than whatever fits in those fluted milkshake glasses so many places still insist on using. Banana, and spearmint had the call, and they went down well.

Towards the end of proceedings, the owner and manager apologised to us for the noise in the busy restaurant. I hadn’t found this to be an issue, but then I have a megaphone for a larynx, and to be fair Miss C is no shrinking violet herself. I’ve had a chat with the owner before – she’s only recently taken over but the place doesn’t seem to have lost a step. This nice little bit of customer service impressed me, and it contributed to making Food For Me’s atmosphere even more welcoming, rather than another faceless restaurant.

On the whole, I absolutely recommend Food For Me – they have an excellent and reasonably priced menu supported by great work in the kitchen, and it’s now licenced for BYO when you order a meal. Head down and check it out, for breakfast, brunch, lunch, or afternoon tea.

