I have been nominated by someone who is definitely not my purple-prose obsessed father for the Real Neat Blog award. Honoured as I am, it came with questions which I have been compelled to answer. True to form, I’m being a facetious jerk about answering them.

I get this sort of thing all the time. Not.
I get this sort of thing all the time. Not.
1. What word best describes you?

Exuberant, or ebullient, especially before 7am when for some reason I am the only boundingly good-natured person in the household. I can tell my darling Mother would love to murder me, and yet all she can do is laugh. Another potentially dramatic situation defused by my infinite charms.

2What is your greatest fear?

Drowning, sometimes in hard work but mostly water.

3. Why do you have a blog?

Possibly because I’m incredibly self indulgent, but also crave the approval of both my peers and strangers?

Let us take a look back to the heady days of late 2012, when I suddenly decided it would be a good idea to write 1300 words about Alfred Hitchcock’s Vertigo. I tried using Tumblr to host the blog, but then their servers went down for a day. Outraged, I switched to WordPress and have never looked back.

I enjoy blogging as an outlet – a place to write about stuff with which I would otherwise bore the pants off my family. In the almost three years I’ve maintained Ravings in Cinemascope, I’ve been very grateful to see that many other people like the things that I like, and enjoy reading my often verbose and esoteric ramblings. The nicest thing that’s happened is that my post about the costume design of Yes Minister and Yes Prime Minister has been reblogged and referenced all over the internet.

4. What is your favourite quote?

“Plenty of time to sleep when you’re dead.”
– Gustav Graves, Die Another Day (2002)

But I also do very much like,

It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.
– Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities (1859)

5. Compose a quote about writing or the power of words.

“One of the most powerful and flexible words in the English language, ‘shit’ is one of the only words which can be employed in all its senses (noun, verb, exclamation) through just one enunciation. Truly, it is an essential in every modern person’s colloquial vocabulary.”

6. What is your favourite thing to write? Short story, poem, novel, do you like to break boundaries with experimental writing? Tell me about it.

For a long time, my favourite thing to write was limericks, and I’d love to share some here but they’re almost all too filthy. Same goes for my Haikus, though the one about Lady Chatterley’s Lover brought the house down when I read it aloud. But I think, and you can tell this from my blog, my favourite things to write are reviews, followed closely by anecdotes. I have to confess that I’m not particularly adventurous as a writer; I’ve tried my hand at original fiction more than a few times, but even my fan fiction didn’t go anywhere and I didn’t even have to invent the characters!

7. How and when did you realise that writing was important to you?

At the same time I realised I am extremely picky about grammar, probably at about the age of 9. I remember asking my year five teacher about the correct way to form a sentence around “of which”, and the rest is history.

blog-award
Thanks, Dad! Can I please have some money as well?
