I went outside last week. If you know me, you’ve probably determined I’m quite comfortable inside, but the outdoors is a place I approach with some trepidation. Still, I felt optimistic and so Miss C and I drove up to Lesmurdie Falls in the Darling Scarp for a bit of a ramble and a picnic.

Being adventurous sorts, it wasn’t long before we found ourselves off the beaten track, scrambling over rocks and through prickly Australian undergrowth to get up close and personal with the waterfalls.

Naturally, I embarrassed myself and got up particularly close and personal, slipping over and ending up face down in a babbling brook mere metres from a precipitous cliff edge. Fortunately, I already had brown stains on the back of my shorts from a previous meeting of ground and bottom, so any side effects from my brush with death were well concealed.

None of this stupidity prevented us from capturing some nice photos, though. Mundy National Park, in which Lesmurdie Falls are located, is a place of phenomenal beauty and excitement. And water. I highly recommend going on a day after heavy rainfall, when the waterfalls are in full flow; luckily we went after a dry spell so I didn’t drown as well as get a bit wet. But anyway, photos! We’ll start from the top.

On a clear day, you can see forever...
On a clear day, you can see forever…
To my right, you can see a very safe and not treacherous moving body of water.
To my right, you can see a very safe and not treacherous at body of water.
My dignity ended up being washed away.
Beyond the little pool in the centre of this photo is a 20 metre cliff.
I filmed this in super slow-mo, which you can see on my Instagram. A slower frame rate helps make small trickles appear as raging torrents.
I filmed this in super slow-mo, which you can see on my Instagram. A slower frame rate helps make small trickles appear as raging torrents.
A little creek wends its way through the bush of Mundy National Park.
A little creek wends its way through the bush of Mundy National Park.

 

 

