Over at my Dad’s blog, he’s lighting up the internet on the weekly with a little challenge to write a haiku to a theme he designates. Ordinarily, I make up depraved and vulgar compositions which disgust Dad and make him ashamed of me. This week, however, I decided to apply myself.

The them for this week is “box”. I decided to think outside it (is funny because theme is box) and write about my personal vehicle. “Sven” is a very boxy 1994 Volvo 850 that I’ve had since January 2014, and, well, he’s become slightly problematic in the past 6 months. We have a very similar life – I get new pants, Sven gets a new radiator. I get food poisoning, Sven sprays oil everywhere.

What manner of evil leaves markings such as this? In this case, a disgruntled Swedish automobile.
What manner of evil leaves markings such as this? In this case, a disgruntled Swedish automobile.

However, there is beauty in this second analogy, as I discovered when I stepped outside the other night. The drops of oil Sven has deposited over the paving at the front of the house reflect light in a most hypnotic and ethereal manner, such that I was inspired to write this Haiku.

Glow of cheap street light
Oily patches shine, remind

That Sven has to go.

If you’d like to participate in TJ’s Household Haiku Challenge, you can find the instructions here.

