My Dad, a teacher, has recently returned from a school trip to Cambodia and Vietnam. He brought with him some interesting bits and pieces, but my favourite of them all was something he had found for me.

Not long before they left Vietnam for home, Dad stumbled upon a seller of fine film-related wares, assisting me in not having to think too hard about this week’s Movie Tuesday.

Behold, a custom screen-printed poster for Spielberg’s 1975 hit, Jaws!

image1

One of my favourite artworks is Hokusai’s woodblock print, The Great Wave off Kanagawa, c. 1830. The style of The Great Wave has been incorporated in a bit of genius imitation by whoever created this Jaws poster. The shark in this image is much more threatening than in the original Jaws poster, even if the shark in the movie itself was a bit, well, funny looking. This poster gets a 10/10 for me. Now I just need to frame it!


For past Movie Tuesdays, click here.

 

