Today marks two years since I started up this blog. Its main function at the time was just as somewhere to indulge my passion for writing about thousands of words of waffle about stuff on which I would never be marked. In that respect it has served its purpose magnificently, but I’ve been flattered and excited over the last 12 months especially to see my readership get rather wider than I ever thought it would be. So, thanks to you all for stroking my ego and giving me even more of a reason than ever to waste time! And what better way to celebrate Ravings In Cinemascope’s arrival at Toddler Status than by taking a timeout from my end of year assessments and chucking down a few lines about some awesome music?

Well, yes, a pyramid of beer would be nice, but this is a family blog.
Well, yes, a pyramid of beer would be nice, but this is a family blog.

Believe it or not, it’s not James Bond music I’m about to discuss, either. No, dear readers, not at all. Rather, the excellent alternative rock sounds of Chicago/LA band, OK Go. OK Go, they of the treadmills, buckets, dogs, Rube Goldberg Machines, and forced perspectives have been around for quite a long time. You may remember their famous (or infamous) treadmill dance video for 2006’s “Here It Goes Again”. Here’s a refresher if you’ve forgotten it. Seriously catchy song, incidentally.

They’ve followed the runaway viral success of that video with a great number more, but their latest video is probably the crowning achievement in their video work so far. It’s got a fantastic song with a great message (“I won’t let you down”) and, good grief, the video’s a knockout. Have a look:

What I love about these videos is that they inspire pure, unadulterated happiness in people the world over. I’ll watch them and have a goofy grin on my face all the way through. When you think about how much work they must put in to these videos, on top of the taxing process of writing music for an increasingly apathetic market, you would hope the band members look at the way the web lights up when an OK Go video comes out and feel a little happy themselves.

In many ways, “I Won’t Let You Down” is more than just a song with an awesome cool video. Its very title is metareferential – the band doesn’t let us down, be it with the quality of their music, or the fun and excitement of a new OK Go video. They show us the potential of letting the sky be the limit, letting go, and just generally having fun and not taking yourself too seriously. “I Won’t Let You Down” is by far and away my favourite song from the band, and it’s finally motivated me to really explore their music further.  Indeed, if it wasn’t for my personal transportation, Sven the Infernal Machine, or the Austerity Drive as I’m now calling him, I’d have gone out and bought all their albums this afternoon. But don’t worry, OK Go. You’ll get my money. I won’t let you down.

Yep, that was a pun. Bye!
Yep, that was a pun. Bye!
